The shift is locked.
The employee has clocked in against that shift.
There is a timesheet added against this shift.
To protect the roster and the scheduled shift from accidental deletion, ClickTime does not allow the user to delete the shift under these circumstances. Instead, ClickTime provides the option to void the shift. You can also add notes explaining why the shift was voided.